Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

BTEC Level 3 Extended Diploma in Information Technology

BTEC Level 3 National Extended Diploma in Information Technology

Entry Requirements

An average Attainment 8 score of 4 as well as a Grade 5 in English Language or Literature. In addition, a GCSE Grade C in ICT or Computer Science is preferred.

What is BTEC National Extended Diploma in Information Technology ?

This qualification is the equivalent to 3 A Levels.  There are 13 units of which 7 are mandatory and 4 of which are externally assessed.  The course covers a varied range of IT topics with an element of computing such as programming.

The transferable skills you will develop through the course that universities value include:

• the ability to learn independently

• the ability to research actively and methodically

• to be able to give presentations and be active group members.

The study of IT particularly encourages development of research and analysis skills, project management and prioritising, effective communications, the synthesis skills of adapting and integrating, and the evaluation skills of assessing, interpreting and validating.

As this qualification is equivalent in size to three A Levels, it fully meets the requirements for progression to a wide range of degree programmes in IT and related areas. These include:

• BSc in Business Information and Technology

• BSc in Digital Technology Solutions

• BSc (Hons) in Computer Games Technology

• BSc (Hons) in Creative Technology

• BSc (Hons) in Information Technology Management for Business

• BSc in Computing Forensics

• BSc in Computer Networks and Security.

Course Content

The seven core units in the extended diploma give you an introduction to and understanding of Information Technology.  Units range from Information Technology Systems, Creating Systems to Manage Information, Using Social Media in Business, Programming, IT Project Management, Cyber security and Incident Management and IT Service Delivery. We will also cover a range of optional units such as Data Modelling and Enterprise in IT.

Mandatory content (67%).

External assessment (42%).

How will you be assessed?

Assessment is specifically designed to fit the purpose and objective of the qualification. It includes a range of assessment types and styles suited to vocational qualifications in the sector. There are three main forms of assessment that you need to be aware of: external, internal and synoptic. Internal and external assessments are based on realistic scenarios.

There are also external exam components for the BTEC that you are required to pass in order to achieve your final results.