Close

Download our FREE smartphone app today!

Get the app

Twitter

03/03/21

Academy Reopening: March 2021 update. https://t.co/uoZWHIrw7F

23/02/21

Mental Health Matters. We’ve produced a series of videos for our students to provide some tips on staying mentally healthy. https://t.co/msSWzGeZgR

11/02/21

An article about our cooking and baking challenge https://t.co/jlnZAlAOu7

04/02/21

Writing your feelings down can be an effective method of processing complex emotions. Poem, lyric and story writing can help encourage stress release and improve mental health

03/02/21

Physical activity is crucial in maintaining good mental health. Why not look at what are doing to promote well-being through exercise?

02/02/21

Retweetd From MFL Harris Chafford

Chloe has set a very high standard for cake week. Check out her Mt Vesuvius that took 2 days to make. It includes chocolate sponge cake, butter, chocolate and glacé icing, plus flames created out of coloured melted lollypops https://t.co/yiZfMuZwFf

02/02/21

Engaging in dramatic arts is a fantastic way to relieve stress and to communicate complex thoughts and emotions. Why not ask about the benefits of Drama?

02/02/21

One way young people can express themselves is through artwork. Drawing, painting or creating can be a great way of processing complex emotions without words.

01/02/21

This has the theme “Express Yourself”. Throughout the week we’ll be sharing different ways that students can share feelings, thoughts and ideas. Here is a video from The Duchess of Cambridge to kick start the week. https://t.co/20lyenw56g

01/02/21

Get involved with the challenge! https://t.co/E35ezzFrxM

22/01/21

Retweetd From HACH PE DEPT

HACH Netball Academy https://t.co/Z6KR9OsyNQ

21/01/21

Our MFL students have been exploring different cultures through a cooking challenge! Why not take a look at the contributions via ? https://t.co/QbJQf71UTN

21/01/21

Remote Learning Information https://t.co/qISDifnUeT

15/12/20

The show must go on! We are proud to present our Winter Show 2020 via https://t.co/MRcWkv2GOR

30/11/20

Today we’ve launched our Wellbeing First Aid service. More opportunities for students to express themselves can only be a good thing.

20/11/20

For any queries relating to admissions, please get in contact via admissions.org.uk for the right support.

19/11/20

Our Virtual Sixth Form open evening is now live on our website.

19/11/20

Our Sixth Form Virtual Open Evening will go live from 6pm!

05/11/20

We are pleased to announce that our Sixth Form’s virtual open evening and application process will be live from the 19th November

Harris Academies
All Academies in our Federation aim to transform the lives of the students they serve by bringing about rapid improvement in examination results, personal development and aspiration.

Central Office

Bexley

Bromley

Clapham

Croydon

Greenwich

Haringey

Havering

Merton

Newham

Southwark

Sutton

Thurrock

Wandsworth

Westminster

FOI, Privacy Notices, Complaints, Whistle-Blowing, Funding & Charging Policy

Charging

Our full charging and remissions policy can be found below. A brief summary follows;

Harris Academy Chafford Hundred provides a free education for boys and girls of all abilities. However, the Governors of the Academy reserve the right to charge in the following circumstances:

  • Where a parent wishes a child to learn a musical instrument.
  • When a request is made for accreditation in a subject that is not a normal part of the student’s Academy programme; when a request is made for a different form of accreditation to that advised by the Academy; when a student is entered for an examination but fails to sit it, unless the reason is acceptable to the Principal and Chairman of Governors;
  • Where a trip is proposed which is not a compulsory part of the curriculum, parents will be invited to make a contribution to cover the costs involved. This will be on the understanding that if there is insufficient support the proposed trip will not take place.
  • Cost of ingredients or materials for practical subjects, where parents have indicated in advance, a wish to own the finished product.

Complaints

Our full complaints policy can be found below.

If you are unhappy or have concerns about the academy or a person associated with the academy then you may wish to make a complaint, in the first instance complaints should be addressed to the Assistant Director and Executive Principal Mrs Nicola Graham at the Academy

Please contact her PA

Mrs Swallow
E-mail: D.swallow@harrischaffordhundred.org.uk
Telephone: 01375 484580

Complaints that involve or are about the Head of Academy/Executive Principal should be addressed to the CEO’s Office via the Federation Head Office, 4th Floor Norfolk House, Wellesley Road, Croydon, CRO 1LH or email info@harrisfederation.org.uk. Please mark as ‘Private and Confidential’.


Privacy Notice

Under data protection law, individuals have a right to be informed about how the Federation and its Academies use any personal data about its students.  We, the Harris Federation, comply with this right by providing Privacy Notices to parents/carers and students, as appropriate, where we are processing their personal data.

Harris Federation is the Data Controller for the purposes of data protection law and therefore will determine the purposes for which personal data is processed (the ‘why’ and the ‘how’).  Your Academy and authorised 3rd parties, e.g. ParentPay, process and ‘use’ data on behalf of the Federation and are therefore Data Processors.

We collect and use personal data about the students who attend our Academies, in order to provide an outstanding education.  This personal data includes identifiers such as name, address and contact details of parents/carers, characteristics such as ethnic group, nationality and language, attendance information, test results, medical conditions, and special educational needs information.

This data is used for a variety of reasons, including:

  • Support student learning.
  • Protect student welfare.
  • Monitor and report on student progress.
  • Contact students and parent/carers when we need to.
  • Provide appropriate pastoral care.
  • Assess the quality of the services we provide.
  • Administer admissions waiting lists.

The Federation and its Academies will ensure that all personal data is processed fairly and lawfully, is accurate, is kept secure and is retained for no longer than is necessary.  We do not share personal information about our students with any third party without consent, unless the law and our policies allow us to do so.  For example we are required to pass on some data to the Department of Education (DfE).

See our Privacy notices below to learn how we collect, use, protect and share the personal information about our students.

If you have any question, concerns or would like more information about anything mentioned the Privacy Notice(s), please contact the Federation’s Data Protection Officer (DPO), details below:

Data Protection Officer
Harris Federation
4th Floor Norfolk House
Wellesley Road
Croydon
CR0 1LH

Email: dpo@harrisfederation.org.uk   

Tel: 0208 253 7777


Freedom of Information

The Freedom of Information Act 2000 gives the public right of access to information produced in the course of the Federation’s work. 

There are exemptions to this right. In particular, data about living, identifiable people ('personal data') continues to be covered by the Data Protection Act and is not generally publicly available except to the "subject" of the data - that is, the person whom the data is about.

Under the Freedom of Information Act, the Harris Federation of South London Schools has developed a Publication Scheme which lists all the documents which the Federation will make public as a matter of routine.

If the information you are looking for is not available on our Publication Scheme which can be found further down the page, you can make a request for the information you require in writing, please make sure you read our charging policy for information about cost you may be liable for.

Yours sincerely

Sir Dan Moynihan
Chief Executive Officer


Funding

The Academy is part of the Harris Federation for which the annual report, annual audited accounts, memorandum of association, articles of association and funding agreement can be found here. The Academy’s own supplementary funding agreement can be found below. 


Paper copies

Paper copies of any information on the website will be given free of charge if requested by a parent.

Back to Key Information